Michael and Rosa Sailes Scholar Program

The Michael and Rosa Sailes Legacy Awards are monetary gifts presented to an African American high school graduates and adult seminary students who have exhibit a passion for community service and church ministry.

Michael and Rosa Sailes

2022 Scholars

Kourtney Cole

Kourtney Cole

2022 Undergraduate Scholar:

School: Robert Lindbloom Math and Science Academy High School
GPA: 3.26
College: Southern University and A&M College
Major: Psychology

Danielle Jones

Danielle Jones

2022 Undergraduate Scholar:

School: Gwendolyn Brooks College Preparatory Academy High School
GPA: 4.65
College: Xavier University of Louisiana
Major: Pre-Med Biology

Sidney Justus

Sidney Opari-Justus

2022 Undergraduate Scholar:

School: Whitney M. Young Magnet School
GPA: 3.33
College: University of Illinois-Champaign
Major: Community Health

Maurice Oldham

Maurice Oldham

2022 Undergraduate Scholar:

School: Roald Amundsen High School
GPA: 3.63
College: University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Major: Criminal Justice
Minor: Global Security or Cyber Security

Ramon Mayo

Ramon Mayo

2022 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:
Studies at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School


2021 scholars

Dmonte Blanton

Dmonte Blanton

2021 Undergraduate Scholar:

Hammond Baptist High School (Hammond, Indiana)

Saint Xavier University (Chicago, Illinois) – Major: Biology

Josiah Johnson

Josiah Johnson

2021 Undergraduate Scholar:

Rich Township High School (Richton Park, Illinois)

Saint Xavier University (Chicago, Illinois) – Major: Business Administration

Yvette Cheree Mayo

Yvette Cheree Mayo

2021 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:

Trinity Evangelical Divinity School (Deerfield, Illinois) – PhD in Educational Studies

Ny'Ahmby Romaine

Ny’Ahmby N. Romaine

2021 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:

Moody Theological Institute (Chicago, Illinois) – Master of Arts in Ministry Studies

Christopher Shepherd

Christopher Michael Shepherd

2021 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:

The Edmiston Center for the Study of the Bible and Ethnicity at Reformed Theological Seminary (Atlanta Georgia) – Master of Divinity


2020 Scholars

Jordyn Bracey

Jordyn Bracey

2020 Undergraduate Scholar:
Florida A & M University,
St. Mark United Methodist Church

Caleb Dunson

Caleb Dunson

2020 Undergraduate Scholar:
Yale University in Connecticut,
CityPoint Community Church

Caleb Hoereth


2020 Undergraduate Scholar: 
Grinnell College in Iowa
Flossmoor Community Church

Kynnedi McHenry


2020 Undergraduate Scholar:
Kentucky State University in Frankfort
Free Spirit Ministerial Worship Center

Haille Minor


2020 Undergraduate Scholar:
Texas Southern University in Houston,
Mt. Carmel Baptist Church in Chicago

Sianua N. Respress

Siauna Respress

2020 Undergraduate Scholar:
University of Southern California,
Trinity United Church of Christ

Jabari Zakee Ware


2020 Undergraduate Scholar: 
Columbia College in Chicago
Apostolic Faith Church

LaTonia Yvette Winston


2020 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:
Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
Northwest Assembly of God Church

Past Scholars

Russea Barefield 2019 Scholar

Russea Barfield

2019 Undergraduate Scholar:
Hampton University, Greater Mount Olive COGIC


Maurice Barnett

2018 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar: Satin John Church-Baptist


Patti Caire

2017 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar:  Apostolic Church of God


Kyndall Carter

2018 Undergraduate Scholar: Christian Life Center Church

Tyson Copeland

Tyson Tryon Copeland

2016 Undergraduate Scholar: Harvest Bible Chapel (Rolling Meadows, IL)

Amari Dixon 2019 Scholar

Amari Dixon

2019 Undergraduate Scholar: Saint Xavier University, Greater House of Prayer Church

Carrington 2019 Scholar

Carrington Jackson

2019 Undergraduate Scholar: Western Illinois University, One Vision Worship Center (Joliet, IL)


Brittney Gano

2018 Undergraduate Scholar: Apostolic Church of God


Terrence Hargrove

2016 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar: Beulah Heights Apostolic Church (New Haven, CT)


Kanu Iheukumere

2019 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar: Trinity United Church of Christ, McCormick  TheologicalSeminary


Jauron Morrison

2017 Undergraduate Scholar: Trinity United Church of Christ


Austin Rheme

2017 Undergraduate Scholar: Calvary Baptist Church

Lanyiard Smith RS Scholar

Lanyaird Smith

2019 Apostolic Church of God: Apostolic Church of God


Erin Snow

2017 Undergraduate Scholar: Erin Snow – Sheldon Heights Church


Alexander Stewart

2018 Theological and Biblical Studies Scholar: Rev. Alexander Stewart– Church of Our Lord Jesus Christ


Mariah Webb

2018 Undergraduate Scholar: St. Dorothy Catholic Church